Medical Services

The Medical Team consists of Anchorage and Fairbanks  psychiatrists; advanced nurse practitioners (ANPs); physician assistants (PAs); psychiatric nurse-case managers (N-CMs); nationally certified medical assistants (NCMAs); certified nursing assistants (CNAs) and administrative support staff. The range of psychiatric services is provided to adults, children, and families, and includes diagnostic psychiatric evaluations; medication and symptom management; medication administration; coordination of care with case managers, therapists, primary care providers, and other medical specialists; group therapy; and providing educational training to staff throughout the company. The team provides services at several locations in Anchorage and Fairbanks.

Medical Team

man in suit withr ed tie

Dr. Curt Wengel is a board certified child and adult psychiatrist and loves working as part of a team that includes therapy and wrap-around services to fully meet the mental health needs of our clients.

Dr. Wengel trained at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He and his family are excited to live in a place with snow!

Dr. Estes, DNP, APRN-NP, PMHNP is a lifespan certified Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner who received her initial licensure in 2004 after graduating from Vanderbilt University School of Nursing.  In 2013, she obtained her Doctorate of Nursing Practice from the University of Kentucky, focusing on Provider Knowledge of Urine Drug Testing for her dissertation.   Dr. Estes served on the ACEN board of commissioner co-chairing the committee that developed accreditation guidelines for nursing residency programs.  Prior to moving to Alaska, she served as the Executive Director for the Kentucky Board of Nursing.   Her populations of interest include geriatric mental health, substance use disorders, and crisis stabilization for severe and persistent mental illness. 

In her spare time, she plays co-ed softball, bakes cakes, and spends time outdoors hiking and camping.    She loves all things Christmas! 

Linda Keddington, DNP, holds a Doctorate of Nursing Practice degree from University of Northern Colorado. Her professional interests include treating adult psychosis, mood disorders, depression, and anxiety. Her personal interests include outdoor activities such as skiing, hiking, biking, and SCUBA.

Virginia Walker, ANP – Adult Psychiatric Advanced Nurse Practitioner

Jason Martin, PHMNP, has Masters of Science in Nursing and is board certified in adult psychiatry and mental health. He treats an array of patients with Serious Mental Illness (SMI), depression, anxiety, ADHD/ADD, Obsessive Compulsive disorders, and addictions through the Steven A. Cohen Military Family Clinic and our Anchorage outpatient clinic. Jason utilizes Cognitive Behavior Therapy and Acceptance and Commitment therapies along with medication management, taking a holistic and personalized approach to care. He spent 30 years in the military, and has been providing mental health care for 10 years.

Marieke Heatwole, ANP –  Adult Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner

Joseph DeLong, MPAS, is a Physician Assistant working out of our Fairbanks clinic. He is interested in adult, pediatric, and peripartum mental health. Joe moved to Alaska for the opportunity to work in mental health as a PA, and for the outdoors. He enjoys spending time with his dog, cooking and getting outside as much as possible.

Shannon Buckner, MSN, APRN, PMHNP-BC, has a Masters in Nursing with a focus on health care leadership and a Post Masters Certificate in Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. She is interested in psychiatric mental health care across the lifespan, with particular interest in depression, anxiety, schizophrenia disorders, and bipolar disorders.  She loves to enjoy new outdoor adventures, from fishing to traveling, and loves music and singing, though she may be off-tune.

Rachael Langerman MSN, APRN, PMHNP-BC, grew up around Anchorage, Alaska. She left the state for six years and returned for the mountains in 2017. She enjoys hiking and family activities. Her nursing background was primarily in pediatrics, and she enjoys working with both children and adults as a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner.

Jared Martin, FNP, provides primary care services for clients.  Jared is a retired National Guard Member who has served two deployments in Iraq.  He worked as a registered nurse for several years, and went back to school because he felt that he could do more for his patients. He has worked as a family nurse practitioner since 2018. In his free time, he enjoys fishing, camping, and 4-wheeling.

Karina Demientieff, CNA – Medical Department Coordinator

Kelly Connor, RN – Assertive Community Treatment team, Anchorage

Chris Hindman, RN – Fairbanks

Kimberly Jeffrey, RN

Lauren Krahling, RN

Jennifer Race, RN

Catherine Sears, RN – Assertive Community Treatment team, Anchorage

Alyssa Bouling, CMA -Fairbanks

Vinny Eddy, CMA

Heaven Lee, CMA

Kelly Matson, CMA